Afrimma Awards 2018 Winners

The 5th edition of the African Muzik Magazine Awards and Music Festival (AFRIMMA 2018) Winners.

The Afrimma awards 2018 winners are familiar across the continent. These include Wizkid, Fally Ipupa and Yemi Alade. Some of the others are not quite as popular. These include Uganda’s Sheebah Karungi, who was named Best Female East African act, and Best Newcomer winner Ykee Benda, also from Uganda.

AFRIMMA 2017 was an enormous success with artists like Fally Ipupa, Falz, Tiwa Savage, Diamond Platinum, Composers Band, C4 Pedro, Ray Vanny, Stylz amongst others and we have resolved to give you a better show this year at the biggest African Music Awards in Diaspora. Our African music stars have continued their exploits spectacularly and it is a thing of joy to see African music crossing boundaries despite inherent challenges.

Wizkid won Song of the Year for ‘Soco’, his hit song recorded with members of his Starboy group. The song’s video also won in the Video of the Year category. We also say congratulations to the Zimbabwean songstress Ammara Brown who won best Female Southern Africa.

Full list of winners below:

Best Male West Africa

Davido – Nigeria

Best Female West Africa

Yemi Alade – Nigeria

Best Male East Africa

Eddy Kenzo – Uganda

Best Female East Africa

Sheebah Karungi – Uganda

Best Male Central Africa

Fally Ipupa – Congo

Best Female Central Africa

Daphne – Cameroon

Best Male Southern Africa

Nasty C – South Africa

Best Female Southern Africa

Ammara Brown – Zimbabwe

Best Male North Africa

Ihab Amir – Morroco

Best Female North Africa

Souhila Ben Lachhab – Algeria

Best African Group

Toofan – Togo

Crossing Boundaries With Music Award

MHD – Senegal/ France

Best Gospel

Papa Dennis – Kenya

Best Newcomer

Ykee Benda – Uganda

Artist of the Year

Fally Ipupa – DRC

Best Live Act

Flavour – Nigeria

Best DJ Africa

DJ Dollar – Senegal

Best African DJ USA

DJ Ecool – Nigeria

AFRIMMA Video of the Year

Wizkid – Soco

Music Producer of The Year

Masterkraft – Nigeria

Best African Dancer

Didi Emah – Nigeria

Best Rap Act

Khaligraph Jones – Kenya

Song of the Year

Wizkid – ‘Soco’

Best Lusophone

Kyaku Kyadaff – Angola

Best Francophone

Toofan – Togo

Best African Dancehall/Reggae Act

Burna Boy – Nigeria

News Reporter